Fateless

Pretty much this is how I ended up reading the book and watching the film. On november 2011, I went to a book exchange gathering ; meanly it’s a small event where people who loves books and enjoy reading goes and takes old books or the ones they already read to exchange them for another that somebody else brought.

I didn’t actually had any book to exchange, all of my books are either on my parent’s house or in the place where I was living before, so one of my friends handed me two books in order to have something to exchange; so there I was walking from one table to another trying to find a good book; at the beginning I saw a few quiet interesting but when I decided to get them, they were taken by someone else. I hung around for about an hour and a half waiting for more people to come and to see new books titles, finally I ended up on a table and I saw this book, and to be honest I took it to see it because the book was like brand new and the cover design caught my attention; I started to read the back cover and I few lines called my attention, the story was about a boy who survived a concentration camp during the nazi occupation of his country; you may not know this but I have a particular interest of all things related with the World War II, to me was like – all right, no more looking this is the one – I took the book home and caught me from the very beginning, took me like two or three days to finish it.

Back to the book itself, was written by Imre Kertèsz as a quasi-autobiographical story about a 14 year old Hungarian Jew and his experiences in Auschwitz, Buchenwald and Zeitz concentration camps, the author won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2002, “for writing that upholds the fragile experience of the individual against the barbaric arbitrariness of history“.

In the story the young Hungarian György Köves narrates how after the departure of his father to a labour concentration camp, he is sent to Auschwitz. The substance of the story is the first-hand recounts of his experiences in the concentration camp. Here you’ll find the view of a naïve and innocent child and how this living hell transformed him; he takes us inside the world of a concentration camp in a way that (to me) has never been theatricalized before.

Now, when it comes to the film Fateless, I was glad to see that the screenwriter was Imre Kertèsz himself. I have seen lots of movies (fictional) and documentary about the Holocaust, and I must say this one is well constructed, invite us to remember those past event and that this are facts that we must not forget.

The film though is beautiful (in its own way) it has a huge visual impact without the need to be filled with brutality and really horrors scenes that come to our thoughts when we bring Holocaust events. The film colours are mostly monochrome those reddish-brown associated particularly with early monochrome photographs, one of the few colours you can appreciate is yellow which is the colour  of the badge in the form of a Star of David that the jew population had to wear.

I know that these stories sometimes are difficult to watch and digest but give it a go to this movie.

Leave a Reply

