The Hunger Games

I didn’t even know what The Hunger Games were until somebody mention me the upcoming movie and I must be honest the first thing I thought was that this may be about some competitive eating documentary or something like that, then my brother started to asked If I was able to get him the book.

I read The hunger games a few weeks ago and I must say that the first thing that crossed my mind was Roman History. The Roman colosseum, was where gladiators would fight to the death for the entertainment of the citizens of the Empire’s capitol and also made me think about the myth of Theseus and the Minotaur, in which young people were exacted as tribute from conquered nations and then fed to a horrible monster in the labyrinth.  This type of things makes this book anachronistic (anachronism is the juxtaposition of people, events, or customs from different time periods); of course this isn’t a crime.

To me it was like taking some pieces of Roman History and giving it a new look (the new “gladiators” are kids/teenagers, new weapons and technology to manage everything else), I’m not saying that the book isn’t good because of that, but I kind of prefer the original sources of the story.

The Hunger Games has lots of names related to ancient roman history, like Portria, Flavia, Cato, Octavia; another thing is the name Cinna if my history serves me, Cinna was a poet who was murdered subsequent the assassination of Caesar and Cinna the politician involved in the assassination plot against Caesar. Cinna the stylist from the hunger games; to me he disagrees with the hunger games; does that means that in the future is he going to be some kind of a rebel? (this is just me speculating about because both Cinna’s from Roman history have something in common with the stylist + I haven’t read the other two books, so I have absolutely no clue of what will happen with this character).

Anyway the book worth the read, maybe some people will disagree with me but I think is a light read, even when is kind of post-apocalyptic and is filled with action, political and social issues among other things.

Read it, and let me know what you think.

Comments
3 Responses to “The Hunger Games”
  1. snowbrdr47 says:

    Wow, you really aren’t kidding about liking Greek mythology. That is really interesting, especially about all the name similarities, cool to know about. I really enjoyed the book myself. Do you plan to read the rest of the books in the series or are you just stopping at one?

  2. snowbrdr47 says:

    Yeah, I read them all! I really liked them all for the most part, except I felt like she kind of rushed through the last book and didn’t make it as good as it could have been. I’m sure when you read it, you’ll see what I mean…

Leave a Reply

