The Madman – Khalil Gibran

“You ask me how I became a madman. It happened thus: One day, long before many gods were born, I woke from a deep sleep and found all my masks were stolen, the seven masks I have fashioned an worn in seven lives, I ran maskless through the crowded streets shouting, “Thieves, thieves, the cursed thieves.”..

This is a really weird compilation of short stories but at the same time the book is funny, quite interesting and fascinating. This book gave a new perspective on how poetry can be written and structured, it taught me that poetry isn’t bound by a particular style or shape and Khalil Gibran poetry is really strange and that makes it really attractive.

There were really meaningful thoughts hidden just beneath the text, if that makes sense. It’s really amazing how he envisions the obvious and manages to phrase that into mere abstract words.

I’ll say this is a really exotic book, filled with more parable than poetry, but still amazing.

I hope you can enjoy these wonderful, deep and spiritual parables.

My favorite short story is: The Wise King, please give it a go it will take you less than two minutes.

I’ll leave you with this one: The Sleep-Walkers

In the town where I was born lived a woman and her daughter, who walked in their sleep.  One night, while silence enfolded the world, the woman and her daughter, walking, yet asleep, met in their mist-veiled garden.

And the mother spoke, and she said: “At last, at last, my enemy! You by whom my youth was destroyed-who have built up your life upon the ruins of mine! Would I could kill you!”

And the daughter spoke, and she said: “O hateful woman, selfish and old! Who stand between my freer self and me! Who would have my life an echo of your own faded life! Would you were dead!”

At that moment a cock crew, and both women awoke. The mother said gently, “Is that you, darling?” And the daughter answered gently, “Yes, dear.”

Khalil Gibran

Leave a Reply

