The Bad Beginning By Lemony Snicket

Dear Reader,

I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.  It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket

It’s a very brief read, it moves very fast and even when Snicket claims it isn’t meant to be enjoyed, I found it quite entertaining. The tale is filled with grief and despair, sorrow and sadness.

I love the characters, they are wonderful and unique and they add so much to the story with their personalities, between Klaus, Violet and Sunny I must say so far my favorite is Klaus. I absolutely enjoyed how children managed to escape from Count Olaf cruelty every time working as a team in an ingenious way; I cannot deny i felt  a sense of relief every time they found a way out.

I like the writing style, even when the story has misfortune written all over it has a funny dialogue, I highly enjoyed the dark humor Snicket uses and it doesn’t bother me the author from time to time pauses mid-sentence to discuss the meaning of a word, this is something possibly will annoy some older readers. Actually this is pretty good because it feels like the narrator talks to the reader and also a good thing for young readers and everybody; you can learn something while you walk through the story.

Too bad I do not own there rest of the series, hopefully I will read it when I have the chance.

Comments
One Response to “The Bad Beginning By Lemony Snicket”
  1. dully says:

    Thanks for the review. I must say i generally like happier books, you know, with less sorrow =D. But I thought I’d give this a go so borrowed it from the local library, I must admit that I’m glad i did, because so far (20-30 pages) I’m liking it. I don’t mind at all that there are those pauses where Ms. Snicket explains a word because it gives her a unique writing style. However, I am disappointed that this book isn’t like other sensational ones you can’t put down =(.

Leave a Reply

